Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Argentina win men's Junior World Cup in breathtaking style
10 Jul 2005 15:56

© Philippe Demaret

Photo Gallery

Argentina 2 defeated Australia 1
Goals: ARG - Lucas Vila PS 40m, Pedro Ibarra FG 70m; AUS - Colin Hennessy PS 34m

Argentina won the men’s Rabo Hockey Junior World Cup after a breathtaking penalty corner conversion after the siren to give them a 2-1 win over Australia in the final in Rotterdam this afternoon.

In an unbelievable – and fitting – finale to the tournament, Pedro Ibarra’s low flick into the left corner of the Australian goal broke a 1-1 deadlock after the end of regulation time to give Argentina it’s first junior men’s world title and complete an unbeaten tournament for the newly-crowned champions. 

The match was a pulsating affair and could have gone either way, with both teams unable to convert chances throughout the match except for a pair of penalty strokes either side of half time. 

Australia edged their way in front shortly before half time when Colin Hennessy converted a stroke after an Argentina defender stopped a certain goal from a penalty corner.

Argentina didn’t take long to equalise, scoring less than five minutes after the break through Lucas Vila - who was later named player of the tournament - to set up an exciting second half.

Ibarra was the man who got Argentina back into the match after Australia dominated play for large periods of the second half and it was fitting that he was the man to win the Junior World Cup for his team.

Two of the day's early matches went to penalty strokes to decide the final placings. Spain claimed bronze medal over India after score were locked at 1-1 at the end of extra time.

India grabbed an early lead against the run of play through Sandeep Singh after just eight minutes and it took Spain until after half to respond - Jorge Rodriguez fires a penalty corner into the net.

After India missed the first od the penalty strokes during the shoot out, Spain held their nerve and secured a deserved bronze medal 5-4.

Netherlands took fifth place in the day's first match in a entertaining clash with Germany. The Dutch jumped to a 2-0 lead after 10 minutes but Germany gathered their composure to score twice before the end of the half and again in the 45th minute to take the lead.

Netherlands grabbed the equaliser two minutes later and then prevailed 8-7 in penalty strokes to win over their striong rival.

Pakistan finished seventh, thrashing Korea 6-1. Syed Imran Warsi scored four goals - three from penalty corners - to ensure that his team finsihed the tournament on a positive note over the fading Koreans.

3rd Place Playoff
Spain 1 drew India 1 (Spain won 5-4 after penalty strokes)
Goals: ESP - Jorge Rodriguez PC 38m; IND - Sandeep Singh PC 8m

5th Place Playoff
Netherlands 3 drew Germany 3 (Netherlands won 8-7 after penalty strokes)
Goals: NED - Robert van der Horst FG 5m, Olmer Meijer FG 10m, Eby Kessing FG 47m; GER - Jonathan Froeschle PC 15m, Tim Witthaus FG 33m, Sebastian Draguhn PC 45m

7th Place Playoff
Pakistan 6 defeated Korea 1
Goals: PAK - Tariq Aziz FG 11m, Syed Imran Warsi PC 25m PC 40m PS 53m PC 56m, Muhammad Aktar Ali FG 54m; KOR - Jong Hyun Jang PC 38m

Player of the Tournament: Lucas Vila (ARG)
Most Promising Player: Kevinder Singh (MAS)
Top Goal Scorer: Colin Hennessy (AUS)
Fair Play Award: Mexico

Video Showcase
Events 2007
| Full Calendar
| Oceania Cup 2007
| Appointments 2007
| Appointments 2008
ABN AMRO World Rankings
Olympic Qualification
| Olympic Qualification quotas
| Teams Qualified
| Memo to National Associations
| Olympic Qualifiers tournaments
Global Youth Marathon 2007

| Photos and Reports
© 2007 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org