Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
FIH releases 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team
19 Dec 2007 13:33

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is pleased to announce the 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team. After the 2007 Women’s WorldHockey All Star Team was released late November, the men’s team is composed now. This formation of world class Hockey players is composed of 18 players and two coaches. Captain of the team is 2007 WorldHockey Player of the Year Jamie Dwyer from Australia.

Only the world’s best hockey players are selected for the WorldHockey All Star Team. It is for the second year since the introduction in 2006 that the FIH nominates the WorldHockey All Star Teams for men and women. Visitors to the official website of the FIH www.worldhockey.org were recently able to vote for their favorite men players.

In the men’s All Star Team Germany, World Champion Germany and Samsung Champions Trophy Winner in Kuala Lumpur (MAS), is represented by four players: WorldHockey Player of the Year 2007 (POY) nominee Matthias Witthaus, Tibor Weissenborn, WorldHockey Young Player of the Year 2007 (YPOY) nominee Moritz Fuerste, and goal keeper Ulrich Bubolz. Also Australia, second placed at the 2006 BDO World Cup as well as in Kuala Lumpur, is present with four stars: WorldHockey Player of the Year 2007 award holder and captain of the All Star Team Jamie Dwyer, Brent Livermore, Bevan George and WorldHockey Young Player of the Year 2007 Mark Knowles.

Dutch goalkeeper Guus Vogels, defender Taeke Taekema, the nominated Teun de Nooijer (POY) and Robert van der Horst (YPOY) represent the 2007 Samsung Champions Trophy Bronze Medalist in the All Star Team. Other stars in the Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team 2007 are YPOY nominee Sergi Enrique and POY nominee Eduard Tubau from Spain, India’s star Dilip Tirkey, New Zealand’s Ryan Archibald, and the POY nominees Jong Ho Seo from Korea, and Dilawar Hussain from Pakistan.

Spain’s coach Maurits Hendriks and Dutch Roelant Oltmans are the coaches of this world class formation. In the 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team, eight countries are present: Germany, Australia, Spain, India, Netherlands, Korea, Pakistan and New Zealand.

Please click here for the 2007 Men's World Hockey All Star Team

Please click here for the 2007 Women's World Hockey All Star Team  

Top News
Italy completes WorldHockey Olympic Qualifiers
Spain inflict first defeat to Kookaburras
New Zealand names experienced team for Olympic Qualifier
Russia upsets Germany in EuroHockey Indoors
Mixed results for England at EuroHockey Indoor Nations Challenge
Series of Olympic Qualifiers kick off in New Zealand
Olympic Games last event for Dutch coaches
Great Britain men defeat Canada
Scots Scout New Indoor Rule
Win and draw for Great Britain men
Ireland releases team for Olympic Qualifier
GB Men’s squad for South Africa Tour
USA Field Hockey extends Coaching Staff Contracts
Best wishes for 2008
Fresh faces push for Australian Olympic selection
Video Showcase
Events 2008
| Full Calendar
| Appointments 2008
ABN AMRO World Rankings
Olympic Qualification
| Olympic Qualification quotas
| Teams Qualified
| Memo to National Associations
| Olympic Qualifiers tournaments
| Allocation of teams to Qualifying Tournaments
Global Youth Marathon 2007

| Photos and Reports
© 2008 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org