Homepage >
The Forum 2008
Olympic Anniversary
Events & Results
Player Profiles
Event Management
Photo Gallery
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
FIH releases Player of the Year nominees
15 Oct 2008 07:38

© FIH / Jeroen van Bergen

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) released the nominated players for the 2008 Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year. All athletes that participated at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games were able to vote for their favorite.

Out of the numerous votes received, the FIH established a short list. The winner of the Player of the Year Awards will come out of this selection. The winners will be announced during a special awarding ceremony, which will take place during the FIH Congress Dinner in Los Angeles, USA on Friday 28 November 2008.

Last year, Luciana Aymar (ARG) won the Women’s Player of the Year Award for the fourth time in her career. Australian Jamie Dwyer was crowned Men’s Player of the Year in 2007.

The nominees are:

Women’s Player of the Year 2008

Naomi van As (NED)
Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Minke Booij (NED)
Baorong Fu (CHN)
Natascha Keller (GER)
Carla Rebecchi (ARG)
Fanny Rinne (GER)
Janneke Schopman (NED)

Men’s Player of the Year 2008

Pol Amat (ESP)
Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
Bevan George (AUS)
Robert van der Horst (NED)
Barry Middleton (GBR)
Teun de Nooijer (NED)
Tibor Weissenborn (GER)
Timo Wess (GER)

Women’s Young Player of the Year 2008 – born in 1985 or later

Crista Cullen (GBR)
Ellen Hoog (NED)
Janne Muller-Wieland (GER)
Maartje Paumen (NED)
Qingling Song (CHN)

Men’s Young Player of the Year 2008 – born in 1985 or later

Desmond Abbott (AUS)
Simon Child (NZL)
Jeroen Hertzberger (NED)
Ashley Jackson (GBR)
Eddie Ockenden (AUS)

Feature News
FIH releases Player of the Year nominees
Markus Weise: The Double Gold Hero
World Grand Masters World Cup
The challenges of FIH’s new countries
Olympic Umpires equipped with professional radios
Hockey 100 Years at Olympic Games
IOC President launches FIH Zambia Project
Hockey In The Heart Of Singapore
Zimbabwe’s fairytale Gold Medal in Moscow
Tales from the WorldHockey Olympic Qualifiers
100 Years of Olympic Hockey Celebration
Olympic Qualifier Drama
Obituary: Jean Robertson: hockey player and umpire
Does Ric Charlesworth have the Golden Touch?
Umpires Congress in Netherlands

 YouTube Clip of the Week
Virtual Olympic Congress

Events 2008
| Full Calendar
| Appointments 2008
© 2008 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org