Homepage >
Presidential Election
The Forum 2008
Olympic Anniversary
Events & Results
Player Profiles
Event Management
Photo Gallery
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
1988 Hockeyroos gold medal reunion
09 Oct 2008 07:11

Australia's first ever Olympic hockey gold medal winning team, the 1988 Hockeyroos, will be holding a reunion 20 years after their triumphed victory at the 1988 Seoul Olympics.

The reunion will be held in Sydney from Friday 10 until Sunday 13 October.

The 1988 gold medal victory paved the way for the Hockeyroos to go on and become one of Australia's most successful sporting teams of all time, winning three Champions Trophy tournaments, two World Cups, one Commonwealth Games Gold Medal and two Olympic Gold Medals from 1993-2000 under the leadership of new Kookaburras coach Ric Charlesworth.

13 of the 16 1988 squad members, including three time Olympic gold medalist Rechelle Hawkes, will be present at the reunion, with only Lee Capes, Elspeth Denning and Michelle Hager unable to attend.

Former coach Brian Glencross and various members of the support staff will also be attending, including sports psychiatrist Brian Miller who is traveling all the way from London for the reunion.

Source: Hockey Australia

World News
Hundred Countries Ratify Anti-Doping Convention
EHL Champions UHC Hamburg named as host club for KO16
FIH releases Qualified Teams for 2022 Events
Tornados win 1st Vietnam’s International Sixes
France to play Argentina in two matches
Retirements of Australian Internationals
FIH opens special Presidential Election page
Withdrawal of Peter Cohen for FIH Presidential Election
Revington appointed as New Irish Men’s Coach
Head Coach for Hong Kong Hockey Association
Hockey Festival in Vietnam
Dramatic finale to EHL Round 1
Polo de Barcelona defeat champions Uhlenhorster
Waterloo, Reading and Barcelona all win on day 1
Lille ready for EHL Round 1b action

 YouTube Clip of the Week
Events 2008
| Full Calendar
| Appointments 2008
| Appointments 2022
| Qualified Teams 2022 Events
Virtual Olympic Congress

© 2008 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org