Homepage >
Results Archive
Events & Results
Olympic Anniversary
Photo Gallery
Player Profiles
Event Management
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Zambia Project
Appointment of new Hockey Australia President
20 Nov 2008 23:35

Hockey Australia would like to announce the appointment of Mr Stuart Grimshaw as the new President of Hockey Australia.

Grimshaw's appointment comes following the retirement of outgoing President Mrs Pamela Tye AM, who has stood down from the Board of Directors.

Whilst currently employed by the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Grimshaw previously served as Vice President on the Board from late 2007 after first joining the Board earlier that year.

His strong history within the financial sector combined with his experience as a New Zealand hockey Olympian present an exciting leadership combination for the future of Australian hockey.

As his first point of business, Grimshaw was quick to acknowledge the hard work and dedication displayed by Tye in her many years of service to the Hockey Australia Board. Serving as the President of the Australian Women's Hockey Association from 1996-2000, Tye's contribution in overseeing the amalgamation of the men's and women's associations in 2000 was critical, with Tye serving as President of the newly formed Hockey Australia from 2001 onwards.

"On behalf of everyone involved with Hockey Australia, I would like to thank Pamela Tye for her contribution during her extensive involvement with the sport of hockey. She has overseen some fantastic achievements for the sport during her tenure, and I wish her luck for her future goals beyond hockey." Said Grimshaw.

Tye said she has truly enjoyed her involvement with hockey and believes the sport has a bright future.

"I will look back at my time involved with hockey with some very fond memories. I have met some fantastic people along the way and to be so closely involved with such a great sport has been very rewarding. With some new people now overlooking the sport, I believe this will help generate some new ideas which will take the sport in some exciting directions in the future." Said Tye.

Grimshaw's appointment as President coincides with Mark Anderson recently joining Hockey Australia as Chief Executive Officer.

These appointments combined with Australia hosting both the Women's (Sydney - July 11-19) and Men's (Melbourne - November 28-December 6) 2022 Champions Trophy tournaments presents an exciting opportunity for the future of hockey in Australia.

"2022 looms as an important year for Australian hockey. With some key personnel changes and Australia hosting both of hockey's marquee international events in 2022, we have a great opportunity to establish ourselves as an important component of the Australian sporting landscape," said Grimshaw.

In other Hockey Australia Board related news, Dr Peter Brukner and Ms Clare Prideaux have filled the two Board vacancies.

Brukner brings with him a wide variety of sporting experience ranging from involvement with the AFL and the Australian Olympic team. Prideaux is a former Hockeyroo who has experiences in all levels of elite sport ranging from playing, coaching, administration and education.

Mr Richard Aggiss has retired from his position on the Board and has been awarded life membership of Hockey Australia. Aggiss's contribution to hockey has been varied, starting with his appointment as the inaugural Head Coach of the men's hockey program at the Australian Institute of Sport, a position he held for 12 years.

He joined the Board of the men's association in 1998 and remained involved on the Board once the men's and women's associations amalgamated in 2000, serving as Vice President until 2006.

Source: Hockey Australia

 YouTube Clip
Events 2022
| Full Calendar
| Appointments 2022
| Qualified Teams 2022 Events
Virtual Olympic Congress

© 2023 International Hockey. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org