Homepage > News >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Inaugural Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame inductees
30 May 2006 15:50

The Irish Hockey Association has announced the initial 10 players who have been selected to be the inaugural inductees into the new Irish Hockey Hall of Fame.

The Irish Hockey Hall of Fame is being launched at this year’s Irish Hockey Awards, in association with ESB and Howard Holdings, on 24 June to honour and recognise past playing legends in Irish hockey’s illustrious past.

An initial 10 players, five men and five women, are to be inducted as inaugural members, with a further male and female player to be added each year thereafter.

“The idea is to create a unique group of exceptional players in Irish hockey, whose achievements deserve to be honoured and preserved in Irish hockey’s proud history,” IHA Chief Executive Paul Varian said.

“Irish hockey is lucky to have such a deep, rich history of success and accomplishment and we are keen to institute the Irish Hockey Hall of Fame to preserve the greats of the past and present them as role models for our players of the future.”

To be eligible, a player must be permanently retired from international hockey and have made exceptional contributions to hockey in Ireland, from a playing standpoint.

Irish Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees
Ken Blackmore
Harry Cahill
Betty Henderson (Kyle)
Thelma Hopkins (McLernon)
Joan Horne (Priestman)
David Judge
Noel O’Dwyer
Joan O’Reilly
Maeve Shankey (Kyle)
Reg Treacy

For more information on the inductees, visit the Irish Hockey Association website, www.hockey.ie

 Latest News
Setanta Sports Trophy: Ireland’s biggest Tournament
Sky Sports to broadcast AtaHolding Champions Challenge Highlights
Double Dutch victory in test series
Scotland in Setanta Sports Trophy
Impressive Korea top league table in Baku
Korea, England and China all claim wins
2023 Men’s Hockey World Cup in India shows major progress
London 2020: New Brand Unveiled
FIH launch AtaHolding Champions Challenge website
England men’s squad for BDO Champions Challenge
© 2007 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org