Homepage > News >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
New Zealand announces 2007 selections
20 Feb 2007 07:59

Twenty one players have been named in the Black Sticks National Women’s squad and 25 in the Men’s national team of New Zealand.

Black Sticks Women’s Coach Kevin Towns has recalled several experienced players to balance his 2007 squad.

North Harbour defender Lizzy Igasan is back after a break from the game. Two highly experienced players have been recalled to boost the squad’s attacking options.  Hawke’s Bay based Caryn Paewai has been named as a striker, alongside North Harbour’s Jaimee Provan.

The squad also includes two newcomers, with Northland defender Alana Millington (18) and North Harbour halfback Kimberley Green (20) both receiving promotion from the New Zealand Development squad. 

The Black Sticks Women’s first assignment of the year is a four test series against Australia in New Zealand 13-20 May, with games in Dunedin, Oamaru and Christchurch.  The team will go into camp on 3 May to prepare for the series. 

All 18 players from the Black Sticks Men’s team who played in the recent Dutch Test Series in Auckland & Tauranga, have been retained in the new squad.

Newcomers to the squad include North Harbour halfback Steve Edwards (20), Canterbury’s Jason Bradley and Auckland’s Sanjay Patel. Richard Petherick and Paul Woolford also from Auckland return to the squad after a short break.  

Black Sticks Women 2007 Squad:
Auckland: Krystal Forgesson, Kim Noakes.
Canterbury: Stacey Carr, Honor Dillon, Jo Galletly, Bridget Kight, Meredith Orr, Kate Saunders.
Central: Tara Drysdale, Emily Naylor, Caryn Paewai, Kayla Sharland, Anita Wawatai.
Northland: Laura Douglas, Charlotte Harrison, Alana Millington.
North Harbour: Kimberly Green, Lizzy Igasan, Jaimee Provan.
Midlands: Kate Mahon.
Wellington: Beth Jurgeleit.

Black Sticks Men 2007 Squad:
Auckland: Ryan Archibald, Simon Child, Dean Couzins, Casey Henwood, Sanjay Patel, Richard Petherick, Paul Woolford.
Canterbury: Jason Bradley, Nick Haig, Andy Hayward, Jan Peterson, Bradley Shaw, Hayden Shaw.
Central: Stephen Graham, Bevan Hari, Shea McAleese.
North Harbour: Ben Collier, Bryce Collins, Steve Edwards, Blair Hopping, Lloyd Stephenson.
Wellington: Phillip Burrows, James Nation, Kyle Pontifex.

Source: Hockey New Zealand.

 Latest News
Polish and German victories at EuroHockey Indoor Cups
Employment opportunities at Irish Hockey
London 2020 recruits Competition Manager
USA Field Hockey Men's Roster Announced For Mexico Series
New Zealand announces 2007 selections
Spain upsets Germany at Samsung Indoor World Cup
Europe rules Samsung Indoor World Cup
Many visitors on Samsung Indoor World Cup website
Title holders reach semifinal at Samsung Indoor World Cup
Tough time for German men at Samsung Indoor World Cup
© 2007 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org