Homepage > News >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
England women’s squad for EuroHockey Nations Championships
31 Jul 2007 09:37

The England Women’s squad for the EuroHockey Nations Championships has been announced.  England will play five games between 18 August and 25 August and will meet Netherlands, Ireland and Italy in their Pool matches with Germany, Spain, Ukraine and Azerbaijan in the other Pool. The top three teams will secure qualification for the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

There are three changes to the squad which finished a disappointing seventh in the Samsung World Cup in Madrid last October.  Doncaster’s Jo Ellis, Chelmsford’s Lisa Wooding and Rotterdam’s Helen Grant do not feature and have been replaced by the recently capped Hannah Macleod and the experienced Cathy Gilliat-Smith and Anne Panter.  Several players who missed the recent Champions Challenge – in which England won the bronze medal – because of injuries or University examinations return to the squad. 

11 of the squad (Bimson, Clewlow, Cullen, Danson, Ellis, Gilliat-Smith, Richardson, Walker, Walsh, Walton & Wright) remain from the side which won the Bronze medal in the last EuroHockey Nations Championships in Dublin in August 2005.

Head coach Danny Kerry commented: “Following an exhaustive and thorough preparation period we feel we have selected a squad that will deliver in our most important tournament in 2007.

“We have been particularly pleased at the form that Hannah Macleod has made and her inclusion brings good physical presence and further athleticism to the forward line. Equally, we are delighted that Anne Panter's inclusion will bring further intelligent and athletic qualities to the group. Alex Danson has been selected subject to a full recovery from an injury sustained during training and Cathy Gilliat-Smith returns to the squad providing a gritty work ethic and a willingness to place herself in harms way to score goals.”

He continued “Kerry Williams and Rebecca Herbert return to the squad following the successful completion of their University exams and their electric speed is a real asset to the team. Lucilla Wright makes a very welcome return to the squad following an extended period of injury rehabilitation following the World Cup in September 2006. Beth Storry also returns to the team bringing her assured no non-sense approach to goal-keeping.  Those not selected will remain training with the squad to ensure readiness in the event of any injury leading into the competition.”

England women’s squad for EuroHockey Nations Championships:

Katy Roberts (GK), Beth Storry (GK), Crista Cullen, Mel Clewlow, Helen Richardson, Jo Ellis, Lucilla Wright, Kate Walsh (C), Chloe Rogers, Jennie Bimson, Rachel Walker, Alex Danson, Rebecca Herbert, Sally Walton, Hannah Macleod, Cathy Gilliat-Smith, Kerry Williams.

Source: England Hockey

 Latest News
France and Scotland undefeated at EuroHockey Nations Trophy
Splendid victory for Malaysia at Men’s Asia Cup
Japan joins Korea in women’s Asia Cup semifinal
India in semifinals at Men’s Asia Cup
India and Korea strong at Women’s Asia Cup
Victories for Belarus, France and Scotland at EuroHockey Nations Trophy
China opens women’s Asia Cup with two victories
Japan upset Pakistan at Asia Cup
Lots of goals on opening day of Asia Cup
Irish Teams Look Forward after EuroHockey Nations Championship
© 2007 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org