Homepage > News >
Results Archive
Events & Results
Olympic Anniversary
Photo Gallery
Player Profiles
Event Management
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Zambia Project
Kookaburras receive final preparation ahead of World Cup Qualifier
05 Aug 2022 07:09

After defeating Malaysia, Canada and Australia A at the recent 3 Nation/ 4 Team series over the weekend, the Kookaburras will remain in Canberra to play Canada in two test matches.

The test matches will be played at 15:00 on both Thursday 6 and Friday 7 August.

These test matches will be the Kookaburras final international experience ahead of the World Cup Qualifier event in New Zealand from August 24-30. The Kookaburras will play both New Zealand and Samoa for the Oceania Cup, with the winner gaining direct access to the 2023 World Cup which will be played in India from 7-20 March. 

In addition to the Kookaburras squad that played at the 3 Nation/ 4 Team series, Luke Doerner, Kiel Brown, Jason Wilson, Brent Dancer, Glenn Turner, Glenn Simpson and Eddie Ockenden have been added to the Kookaburras training squad for the remainder of the week.

Of these players, interest will surround Brent Dancer and Eddie Ockenden.

For Ockenden, if he is to gain a spot in the Kookaburras team v Canada, it will be his first match since injuring his collarbone against England in June during a Kookaburras tour of Europe.

Dancer, who is in the Kookaburras development squad, is yet to play an international match. He is also the son of former Kookaburras coach Barry Dancer who coached the Kookaburras throughout the last two Olympic campaigns, including gold at the 2004 Athens Olympics, prior to the arrival of current coach Ric Charlesworth.

Matthew Butturini will not take his place in the Kookaburras training squad due to an injured hamstring.

Kookaburras training squad: Luke Doerner (VIC), Kiel Brown (WA), Jason Wilson (QLD), Brent Dancer (WA), Glenn Simpson (VIC), Eddie Ockenden (TAS), Nathan Burgers (ACT), George Bazeley (VIC), Chris Ciriello (VIC), Graeme Begbie (WA), David Guest (TAS), Mark Knowles (QLD), Brent Livermore (NSW), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Rob Hammond (QLD), Fergus Kavanagh (WA), Mark Paterson (NSW), Des Abbott (NT), Grant Schubert (SA), Eli Matheson (NSW), Russell Ford (VIC), Glenn Turner (ACT).

Source: Hockey Australia


 Latest News
Australia wins close call against Canada
Glynn’s great goals give Junior Blacksticks another win
Pakistan announces training squad for World Cup Qualifier
FIH releases BDO Women’s Champions Challenge I match schedule
Kookaburras receive final preparation ahead of World Cup Qualifier
Rani leads India to second win
England names men’s squad for EuroHockey Nations Championships
India upset Australia on Day 1 of BDO Junior World Cup
Australia wins 3 nations/4 team series
England wins final test against India
© 2023 International Hockey. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org