Homepage > FIH > WorldHockey Player of the Year Awards > Past Winners > 2006 WorldHockey Women's Players of the Year >
Presidential Election
The Forum 2008
Olympic Anniversary
Events & Results
Player Profiles
Event Management
Photo Gallery
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Booij and Park claim WorldHockey Player of the Year Awards

© Wolfgang Sternberger

Dutch captain Minke Booij claimed the WorldHockey Player of the Year award 2006. The Dutch defender, who captained her team to the World Cup win, received the award after winning the final against Australia here in Madrid, Spain on Sunday. Korean Mi Hyun Park was awarded as WorldHockey Women’s Young Player of the Year 2006.


The awards were presented by IOC Honorary President for life and FIH Honorary Member Juan Antonio Samaranch and FIH President and IOC Member Els van Breda Vriesman. The votes were cast by all players participating at the Samsung World Cup in Madrid.


It was the first WorldHockey Player of the Year award for the 29 years old Booij and the second time a Dutch player won the award after Mijntje Donners finished first in 2003. Booij, who won the award with 43 votes, took over the title from Argentine ace Luciana Aymar, winner of the 2001, 2004 and 2005 WorldHockey Player of the Year award. Aymar finished second with 38 votes, just five short of Booij. German Natascha Keller reached the third position.


For Booij, the final Sunday of the Samsung World Cup was the day of her life. Firstly, Booij was one of the main responsibles bringing the World Cup back to Netherlands. Just after the final she was crowned as WorldHockey Player of the Year 2006.


Despite finishing ninth in the Samsung World Cup, Korean Mi Hyun Park was awarded as WorldHockey Young Player of the Year 2006. The 20 years old Korean forward got 23 votes and just finished in front of Spanish Esther Termens and Dutch Naomi van As. The award is presented to the outstanding player under the age of 23.


Some weeks earlier, Dutch Teun de Nooijer created history when he was named the WorldHockey Men’s Player of the Year for a record third time. German star Christopher Zeller was named the WorldHockey Men’s Young Player of the Year on the occasion of the BDO Men’s World Cup in Monchengladbach, Germany played mid-September.

Past Winners
1998 Stephan Veen (NED)
1999 Jay Stacy (AUS)
2000 Stephan Veen (NED)
2001 Florian Kunz (GER)
2002 Michael Green (GER)
2003 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2004 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
2005 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2006 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2007 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)

1998 Alyson Annan (AUS)
1999 Natascha Keller(GER)
2000 Alyson Annan (AUS)
2001 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2002 Cecilia Rognoni (ARG)
2003 Mijntje Donners (NED)
2004 Luciana Aymar(ARG)
2005 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2006 Minke Booij (NED)
2007 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Young Men
2001 Tibor Weissenborn (GER)
2002 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
2003 Grant Schubert (AUS)
2004 Santi Freixa (ESP)
2005 Robert van der Horst (NED)
2006 Christopher Zeller (GER)
2007 Mark Knowles

Young Women
2001 Angie Skirving (AUS)
2002 Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2003 Maartje Scheepstra (NED)
2004 Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2005 Maartje Goderie (NED)
2006 Mi Hyun Park (KOR)
2007 Maike Stockel (GER)
© 2008 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org