Homepage > FIH > WorldHockey Player of the Year Awards > 2007 WorldHockey Player of the Year Award >
The Forum 2008
Olympic Anniversary
Events & Results
Player Profiles
Event Management
Photo Gallery
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us

Luciana Aymar and Jamie Dwyer WorldHockey Players of the Year 2007

Argentine Luciana Aymar and Australian Jamie Dwyer were awarded as World Hockey Players of the Year in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Saturday. Both hockey stars received their awards during a special ceremony on the occasion of the Samsung Champions Trophy. German Maike Stockel and Australian Mark Knowles received the WorldHockey Young Player of the Year awards.

The awards were presented FIH President Els van Breda Vriesman. The votes were cast by all players of the world’s best hockey nations.

For Aymar it was her fourth WorldHockey Player of the Year award after she won the title in 2001, 2004 and 2005. The 30 years old captain of the WorldHockey All Star team took over the title from Dutch Minke Booij, who claimed the 2006 WorldHockey Player of the Year award. Aymar travelled all the way from her home city Buenos Aires, Argentina to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for the ceremony.

Dwyer won the WorldHockey Player of the Year award for the second time in his career after he was crowned the best hockey player in the world in 2004. The 28 years old Australian also won the WorldHockey Young Player of the Year award in 2002. Dwyer took over the title from Dutch ace Teun de Nooijer.

It wasn’t the only award for Australia as Mark Knowles (23) won the WorldHockey Young Player of the Year award, the trophy for players born in 1984 or later. The Women’s Young Player of the Year award was presented to Maike Strokel. The 23 years old German was also present in Kuala Lumpur for the awarding ceremony.

Past Winners
1998 Stephan Veen (NED)
1999 Jay Stacy (AUS)
2000 Stephan Veen (NED)
2001 Florian Kunz (GER)
2002 Michael Green (GER)
2003 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2004 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
2005 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2006 Teun de Nooijer (NED)
2007 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)

1998 Alyson Annan (AUS)
1999 Natascha Keller(GER)
2000 Alyson Annan (AUS)
2001 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2002 Cecilia Rognoni (ARG)
2003 Mijntje Donners (NED)
2004 Luciana Aymar(ARG)
2005 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2006 Minke Booij (NED)
2007 Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Young Men
2001 Tibor Weissenborn (GER)
2002 Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
2003 Grant Schubert (AUS)
2004 Santi Freixa (ESP)
2005 Robert van der Horst (NED)
2006 Christopher Zeller (GER)
2007 Mark Knowles

Young Women
2001 Angie Skirving (AUS)
2002 Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2003 Maartje Scheepstra (NED)
2004 Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2005 Maartje Goderie (NED)
2006 Mi Hyun Park (KOR)
2007 Maike Stockel (GER)
© 2008 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org