Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
FIH releases 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team
19 Dec 2007 13:33

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is pleased to announce the 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team. After the 2007 Women’s WorldHockey All Star Team was released late November, the men’s team is composed now. This formation of world class Hockey players is composed of 18 players and two coaches. Captain of the team is 2007 WorldHockey Player of the Year Jamie Dwyer from Australia.

Only the world’s best hockey players are selected for the WorldHockey All Star Team. It is for the second year since the introduction in 2006 that the FIH nominates the WorldHockey All Star Teams for men and women. Visitors to the official website of the FIH www.worldhockey.org were recently able to vote for their favorite men players.

In the men’s All Star Team Germany, World Champion Germany and Samsung Champions Trophy Winner in Kuala Lumpur (MAS), is represented by four players: WorldHockey Player of the Year 2007 (POY) nominee Matthias Witthaus, Tibor Weissenborn, WorldHockey Young Player of the Year 2007 (YPOY) nominee Moritz Fuerste, and goal keeper Ulrich Bubolz. Also Australia, second placed at the 2006 BDO World Cup as well as in Kuala Lumpur, is present with four stars: WorldHockey Player of the Year 2007 award holder and captain of the All Star Team Jamie Dwyer, Brent Livermore, Bevan George and WorldHockey Young Player of the Year 2007 Mark Knowles.

Dutch goalkeeper Guus Vogels, defender Taeke Taekema, the nominated Teun de Nooijer (POY) and Robert van der Horst (YPOY) represent the 2007 Samsung Champions Trophy Bronze Medalist in the All Star Team. Other stars in the Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team 2007 are YPOY nominee Sergi Enrique and POY nominee Eduard Tubau from Spain, India’s star Dilip Tirkey, New Zealand’s Ryan Archibald, and the POY nominees Jong Ho Seo from Korea, and Dilawar Hussain from Pakistan.

Spain’s coach Maurits Hendriks and Dutch Roelant Oltmans are the coaches of this world class formation. In the 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team, eight countries are present: Germany, Australia, Spain, India, Netherlands, Korea, Pakistan and New Zealand.

Please click here for the 2007 Men's World Hockey All Star Team

Please click here for the 2007 Women's World Hockey All Star Team  

Other News
Argentina defeats Ireland in Santiago final
Scottish women surprise England
Draw for Ireland against Argentina
Euro Hockey League KO16 Draw results
England indoor squad for matches against Scotland
IOC awards Internet and Mobile rights for Beijing 2008 in China
FIH releases 2007 Men’s WorldHockey All Star Team
Irish Squad Announced for South African Tour
Ireland men draw with South Africa
Canadian Men’s National Team for South Africa series
Dutch men’s team for South African camp
Philips and FIH collaborate on New Guide to Lighting
USA Men down T&T in First Game of Series
EHL knock-out 16 draw
Dutch women’s team for Oman training camp
Video Showcase
Position Vacant
The International Hockey Federation has an opening for a Director General to join its professional staff.
Events 2008
| Full Calendar
| Appointments 2008
ABN AMRO World Rankings
Olympic Qualification
| Olympic Qualification quotas
| Teams Qualified
| Memo to National Associations
| Olympic Qualifiers tournaments
| Allocation of teams to Qualifying Tournaments
Global Youth Marathon 2007

| Photos and Reports
© 2007 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by fihockey.org